Enjoying Solitude


Sabtu malam adalah kesempatan bagi saya untuk santai membaca buku, terutama di atas jam 9 malam🙂 Sabtu malam lalu saya melanjutkan bacaan saya tentang flow, yaitu buku Mihaly Csikzentmihalyi yang berjudul Flow: The psychology of optimal experience. Maunya sih belajar untuk memantapkan penelitian saya tentang flow ini🙂

Saya sampai pada Chapter 8: Enjoying Solitude and Other People.

Studies on flow have demonstrated repeatedly that more than anything else, the quality of life depends on two factors: how we experience our work and our relationship with other people.

Only witches and shamans feel comfortable spending time by themselves.


Yaaa.. menurut pendapat saya pernyataan di atas benar sekali🙂

People are the most flexible, the most changeable aspect of the environtment we have to deal with. Because we depend so much on the affection and approval of others, we are extremely vurnerable to how we are treated by them.

Therefore, a person who learns to get along with others is going to make a tremendous change for the better in the quality of life, as a whole.

Nah, itulah alasan kenapa saya merasa terluka. Meskipun hanya satu dari beberapa orang yg saya miliki, dia sangat berarti. (uwoo, efek malming nih yee! Kemarin itu sambil nonton SCTV, film yang ditayangkan adalah LOVE IS CINTA, ada Acha Septriasa dan sapat itu, mantan pacarnya, Irawan? Sapa sih? oh iya, Irwansyah..hahahha…)


Kalau saya: 60% solitude, 40% being with others. But yet, saya memiliki hubungan yg sangat kuat dg beberapa orang dalam kehidupan saya. BEBERAPA🙂

Why is solitude such negative experience?

Most people feel a nearly intolerable sense of emptiness when they are alone, especially with nothing specific to do. Keeping order in the mind from within is difficult. We need external goals, external stimulation, external feedback to keep our attention directed. And when external input is lacking, attention begins to wander and thoughts become chaotic.

The ultimate test for the ability to control the quality of experience is WHAT A PERSON DOES IN SOLITUDE, with no external demand to give structure to attention.

Aha!!

Entah mengapa saya merasa nyaman jika melakukan aktivitas sendiri.. namun juga tidak terlalu bermasalah bila harus bersama orang lain juga sih… intinya, saya perlu untuk selalu kembali ke dalam “gua” dan menikmati masa sendiri🙂 Pada diri saya, emptiness terasa ketika saya merasa ditinggalkan atau diabaikan oleh orang-orang terdekat saya -yang jumlahnya hanya beberapa itu- Termasuk juga dia. Hahahaha!

Alone, when the dark night of the soul descends, are we forced into frantic attempts to distract the mind from its coming? Or are we able to take on activities that are not only enjoyable but make the self grow?

A person who rarely gets bored, who does not constantly need a favorable external environment to enjoy the moment, has passed the test for having achieved a creative life

Oo jadi begitu.. okay!

Tentu saya akan memilih aktivitas yang memfasilitasi diri saya untuk berkembang🙂 Pilihan-pilihan yang kita ambil di masa lalu akan membentuk apa yang akan kita jalani di masa sekarang…

Saya terima tantangan itu, saya yakin mampu melaluinya dan menjadi sesosok saya yang “lebih” dari diri saya saat ini🙂

Terimakasih🙂

Oya, ini kreasi terakhir saya… alhamdulillah disukai oleh pemiliknya kini…

Lembayung

Dapat dilihat di fanpage saya: www.facebook.com/Deisgallery

 

Leave a Reply

